Student Services » Bridge Camp 2021

Bridge Camp 2021

General Information
 
Collierville Schools is pleased to offer a Bridge Camp opportunity during the summer of 2021 to students who have completed grades 5-7 (rising 6th, 7th, and 8th graders).
 
Bridge Camp, held on the campus of Collierville Middle School, is completely free of charge. Breakfast and lunch will be provided at no cost, along with bus transportation to the camp for any family that requests it. 
 
Camp begins on Monday, June 7th, and ends on Friday, July 2nd. Daily activities will include reading instruction, math instruction, individualized intervention tailored to your student's identified needs, physical activity/recess, and integrated STEM & Fine Arts activities. All programming will be taught by certified Collierville Schools teachers and employees. The program will strengthen all students' foundational skills prior to moving to the next grade level, serving as the bridge between last school year and next school year.
 
 
Daily Schedule
Classes will not be in this order.
 
2 hours of English language arts (ELA) instruction
2 hours of math instruction
1 hour of intervention (ELA & math)
1 hour of physical activity/recess
30 minutes for lunch
 
 
COVID-19 Procedures
 
We will continue to follow the most current guidelines established by the Shelby County Health Department and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention with regards to preventing, identifying, and managing COVID-19.
 
Face masks as directed by current Shelby County Health Department guidelines are OPTIONAL.
 
No children should come to camp if they have signs of illness.
 
 
Behavior Management Policy
 
Bridge Camp will follow Collierville Schools behavior guidelines.
 
EXPECTED camper behaviors include:
  • Regularly demonstrating the ability to interact appropriately in group settings.
  • Always keeping hands, feet, and objects to yourself.
  • Routinely using inside voices (soft/normal speaking volume).
  • Consistently following all directions and procedures.
  • Constantly showing respect for camp staff, fellow campers, and self.
 
Staff will take the steps listed below when a child displays inappropriate behavior.
  • Encourage positive behaviors and clearly identify the inappropriate behavior.
  • Give a verbal warning.
  • Incidents will be documented by camp staff.
  • Privileges may be modified.
  • If the behavior continues, a second verbal warning will be given with similar consequences.
  • Camper may need to have a private conference with the counselor.
  • If the behavior continues after a third verbal warning, the staff will discuss the problem with the middle school site director, counselor, and parent.
  • If the child's behavior threatens their own personal safety, the safety of the other children, or the safety of the staff, the parent/guardian will be notified and expected to pick up the child.
 
 
Frequently Asked Questions
 
Q: Who is eligible for this program?
A: Eligibility for this program is based on factors including individual student performance on approved reading and math assessments, overall academic performance, and economic challenges facing families.
 
Q: Why is this program being offered?
A: In January 2021, the Tennessee General Assembly enacted the TN Learning Loss Remediation and Student Acceleration Act to support students whose learning was interrupted by COVID-19. As part of this initiative, Tennessee schools are required to offer learning loss remediation programs.
 
Q: Is this program mandatory?
A: No, this program is not currently mandatory.
 
Q: Will the students be required to wear masks?
A: Masks are optional. 
 
Q: What is the dress code?
A: Both students and teachers may dress comfortably. "Camp"-type clothing is recommended (i.e. shorts, t-shirt, gym shoes). Clothing worn to camp should be washable, safe, and appropriate for camp type activities.
 
Q: What supplies will my child need?
A: All supplies and equipment will be provided.
 
Q: Will there be field trips?
A: Most activities will be held on the Collierville Middle School campus. But... stay tuned! Exciting things could be in the works!
Chris Murray, Site Director - cmurray@colliervilleschools.org
Ethan Langston, Counselor - elangston@colliervilleschools.org 
Kristy Shive, Clerical - kshive@colliervilleschools.org 
 
5th Grade Teachers
ELA: Bronzjuan Worthy - bworthy@colliervilleschools.org 
Math: Janice Shaw-Hill - jhill@colliervilleschools.org 
 
6th Grade Teachers
ELA: Cathy Thrasher - cthrasher@colliervilleschools.org 
Math: Kimberly Cleek - kcleek@colliervilleschools.org 
 
7th Grade Teachers
Math: Keatha Jones - kjones@colliervilleschools.org 
 
Teacher Assistants
Alfredia Mitchell - amitchell@colliervilleschools.org